Skip to main content
Image
NEWS & EVENTS
30 September 2021

On 30 September (9h00 ART / 14h00 CEST / 19h00 WIB) join us for the webinar How Green Bonds Are Financing Sustainable Development.

We will hear from municipal and national leaders and experts from Argentina, Indonesia and South Africa on how green bonds are being accessed and utilized; the purpose and function of green finance taxonomies; why tailor-made sustainability frameworks are key to success; and the importance of South-South Cooperation for exchange of best practice and lessons learned.

The panel will delve into the opportunities, challenges and broad potential of green bonds for driving forward sustainable development in advance of the climate finance and biodiversity discussions planned for the 26th UN Climate Change Conference of the Parties (COP26).

Discussion questions include:

  • How are municipalities planning to use green bonds for sustainable development projects?
  • Why are fit-for-purpose green finance frameworks necessary?
  • What is the purpose of national green taxonomies?
  • What are key opportunities for country exchange and mutual learning?

This session is organized jointly with the Poverty-Environment Action – a global programme that supports country-led efforts to put pro-poor, pro-environment objectives into the heart of government by mainstreaming poverty-environment objectives into national development and sub-national development planning, from policymaking to budgeting, implementation and monitoring. Poverty-Environment Action and the GET project are supporting the Government of South Africa and two metropolitan municipalities with capacity building related to the issuance of green and sustainability bonds including enabling peer-to-peer exchanges at different levels.

Link to REGISTER and participate in the webinar.

A recording of this webinar will be available at ggkp.org/greenbonds-webinar2021.

Image
Image
Image